fbpx

Next Chapter

Reality Changers' Next Chapter

2018 and beyond

A Message from our Interim Executive Director & Board Chair

On behalf of the board of Reality Changers, I am writing to let you know that Christopher Yanov, Founder and President of Reality Changers, has informed the Board and Staff that he will step down in October 2018.

 

In 2001, Chris took $300 of seed money and created Reality Changers. For nearly two decades, our mission has been to transform lives, schools, and communities by providing youth from disadvantaged backgrounds with the academic support, financial assistance and leadership training to become first generation college students. Chris’s tireless effort to create universal access to college, one community at a time, has meant that thousands of young people—from throughout Southern California—are now graduates of Reality Changers and the overwhelming majority have gone on to college.

 

During the past eighteen years, Chris has created an enduring organization. He has assembled a talented staff and established strong partnerships with institutions and organizations throughout the region and the nation. In addition, over this past year, I have had the pleasure to chair a generous and experienced board of directors, which has demonstrated that we are as committed to the success of this extraordinary organization as much as the founder, staff, and the program participants we all serve.

 

Over the next few months, Chris plans to take time to recharge. Though he will step away from being RC’s president and director, as the founder he will remain forever closely connected to its mission. When he returns, he will take on the role of Founder & Senior Advisor.

 

Chris has worked closely with his senior staff and board to implement an orderly transition. While our board commences a nation-wide search for a new executive director, I will serve as interim executive director (without compensation). The board and I will involve staff, students, parents and key stakeholders in the process. We will be reaching out to you for support as we launch this next phase in Reality Changers’ history.

 

I wanted to share the letter Chris sent to the board and community about his plans to take time for himself and think about what he’d like to do next. As always, Chris’s inimitable voice expresses the principle that college changes everything, especially for low-income youth. His core belief has become a reality.

 

Please join me in offering deep appreciation for his fierce dedication to ensuring the success and stability of Reality Changers.

 

Best Wishes,

 

 

Kimberley Phillips Boehm, Reality Changers’ Board Chair

A Message from our Founder

" I am delighted to share the news that Reality Changers has reached an important and exciting milestone: the individual who founded the organization no longer has to lead it. As such, I will step down as the organization’s president this month and take on the role of Founder & Senior Advisor. "

Support our life-changing college initiative

We invite you to join a community of people who are investing in the future of our youth and communities by generously giving monthly gifts to Reality Changers. By becoming a monthly donor, you are transforming lives and making a difference, every single month.
 
Our vision and ultimate goal is to create universal access to college, one community at a time. Help us make this a reality. Become a monthly donor today.

Meet the Team

“Teamwork is the ability to work together toward a common vision, the ability to direct individual accomplishments toward organizational objectives. It is the fuel that allows common people to attain uncommon results.”

Kimberley Phillips Boehm
Interim Executive Director
Board Chair
Kimberley@RealityChangers.org
Theresa Cunningham
Vice President
Talent & Organizational Development
Theresa@RealityChangers.org
Ashley Morgan
Vice President
Operations
Ashley@RealityChangers.org
Jordan Harrison
Senior Director
Programs
Jordan@RealityChangers.org
Jaime Anderson
Director, Marketing & Design
Jaime@RealityChangers.org
Jacqueline Guan
Advancement Associate
Jacqueline@RealityChangers.org
Chanel Bradley
Community Partnerships Coordinator
Chanel@RealityChangers.org
Norma Ruiz-Murphy
Finance Assistant
Norma@RealityChangers.org
Mariel Mauricio
College Town, Manager
Programs Administration & Data
Mariel@RealityChangers.org
Jose Luis Perez
College Town
Achievement Coach
Jose@RealityChangers.org
Arantxa Sanchez
College Town
Lead Achievement Coach
Arantxa@RealityChangers.org
Tania Azar
College Apps Academy
Director
Tania@RealityChangers.org
Genaro "Danny" Cruz
College Apps Academy
Lead Instructor, Orange County
Genaro@RealityChangers.org
Rea Concepcion
College Apps Academy
Lead Instructor, Operations
Rea@RealityChangers.org
Christian Feliciano
College Apps Academy
Instructor
Christian@RealityChangers.org
Gerardo Jaimes
College Apps Academy, Manager
Academy Logistics & Partnerships
Gerardo@RealityChangers.org
Kate Kent
College Apps Academy, Coordinator
Data & Learning Management Systems
Kate@RealityChangers.org
Alex Reyes
College Apps Academy
Instructor
Alex@RealityChangers.org
Brenda Trujillo Sanchez
College Apps Academy
Instructor
Brenda@RealityChangers.org
Kristen Sessions
College Apps Academy, Manager
Training & Curriculum
Kristen@RealityChangers.org
Anna Sieto
College Apps Academy
Instructor
Anna@RealityChangers.org
Patty Mendoza
Alumni Network
Director
Patty@RealityChangers.org