fbpx

New CEO

Reality Changers' Next Chapter

2019 and beyond

Reality Changers Appoints New CEO

The Board of Reality Changers of San Diego is pleased to announce that Tamara Y. Craver will join the organization as its new President and Chief Executive Officer. Craver has over 20 years of experience in nonprofit fundraising and executive leadership. She will begin her new leadership role on August 1, 2019, succeeding Interim Executive Director and Board Chair, Kimberley Phillips Boehm. “We are thrilled to have such an accomplished leader in college access as the next CEO of Reality Changers,” Boehm said. “Tamara is a passionate advocate for first-generation college students.”

 

Tamara Craver brings an enviable range of abilities as a fundraiser and executive. During her 12 years as Director of The Posse Foundation, Los Angeles, Craver built the office from a small staff and budget to the second largest office within the Posse Foundation. Under her leadership, the Los Angeles office dramatically increased the number of students it prepared for and then mentored through its ten partner colleges and universities. In addition to leading a successful office, Craver more than quadrupled the annual revenue. She established enduring relationships with partner colleges across the nation. Prior to her role with Posse, Craver served as Director of Development and Communications for Torrance South Bay YMCA and as Director, Social Markets for the American Heart Association, Western States Affiliates.


After Founder Chris Yanov stepped down, the Board of Reality Changers launched the search in the early winter. Steve Ortiz, who is the former Chief Operating Officer of Texas Roadhouse and current Board Member, chaired the search committee. “We brought in CStone & Associates to perform a nationwide search,” he said. “We were looking for someone who had experience with more than just leadership. We wanted a leader who could build a Culture First organization, someone with the vision to take Reality Changers into the future.” Boehm added: “Tamara impressed the search committee and the board with her many years developing the capacity of Posse, Los Angeles. Her strengths as a strategic, disciplined and charismatic leader are widely known and praised.”

“While I loved the Posse Foundation and its focus on helping 12th graders prepare for college, I am attracted to Reality Changers’ mission to support 8th through 11th graders, some of the most vulnerable students with academic potential,” Craver remarked after the Board’s vote. “I look forward to working with such a passionate, intelligent, and dedicated staff.”

Numerous organizations have recognized Craver’s commitment to education, including the LA Business Journal and the Black Women Lawyers Association of Los Angeles. In 2011, Los Angeles Magazine selected her as one of the 50 Most Inspirational Women in Los Angeles. She was a Ralph M. Parsons Foundation Fellow (2012). She is completing a master’s degree in organizational leadership at Gonzaga University and she received her Bachelor of Arts in history and psychology from the University of California, Los Angeles.

Support our life-changing college initiative

We invite you to join a community of people who are investing in the future of our youth and communities by generously giving monthly gifts to Reality Changers. By becoming a monthly donor, you are transforming lives and making a difference, every single month.
 
Our vision and ultimate goal is to create universal access to college, one community at a time. Help us make this a reality. Become a monthly donor today.

Meet the Team

“Teamwork is the ability to work together toward a common vision, the ability to direct individual accomplishments toward organizational objectives. It is the fuel that allows common people to attain uncommon results.”

Theresa Cunningham
Vice President
Talent & Organizational Development
Theresa@RealityChangers.org
Ashley Morgan
Vice President
Operations
Ashley@RealityChangers.org
Jordan Harrison
Senior Director
Programs
Jordan@RealityChangers.org
Jaime Anderson
Director, Marketing & Design
Jaime@RealityChangers.org
Tania Azar
Advancement Consultant
Tania@RealityChangers.org
Norma Ruiz-Murphy
Finance Assistant
Norma@RealityChangers.org
Mariel Mauricio
College Town, Manager
Programs Administration & Data
Mariel@RealityChangers.org
Jose Luis Perez
College Town
Achievement Coach
Jose@RealityChangers.org
Rea Concepcion
College Apps Academy
Lead Instructor, Operations
Rea@RealityChangers.org
Christian Feliciano
College Apps Academy
Instructor
Christian@RealityChangers.org
Gerardo Jaimes
College Apps Academy, Manager
Academy Logistics & Partnerships
Gerardo@RealityChangers.org
Kate Kent
College Apps Academy, Coordinator
Data & Learning Management Systems
Kate@RealityChangers.org
Alex Reyes
College Apps Academy
Instructor
Alex@RealityChangers.org
Brenda Trujillo Sanchez
College Apps Academy
Instructor
Brenda@RealityChangers.org
Kristen Sessions
College Apps Academy, Manager
Training & Curriculum
Kristen@RealityChangers.org
Anna
College Apps Academy
Instructor
Anna@RealityChangers.org
Patty Mendoza
Alumni Network
Director
Patty@RealityChangers.org
Arantxa Sanchez
Alumni Network
Associate
Arantxa@RealityChangers.org