↑ Return to About Us

Meet Our Staff

Christopher Yanov

Founder and President, Reality Changers


 
www.ChrisTougher.com

Recently named one of the most-admired CEOs by the San Diego Business Journal and one of San Diego’s new civic power brokers by San Diego Magazine, Christopher Yanov raised and awarded over $1,000,000 in scholarships to inner-city students before turning 30 years old.

Mr. Yanov earned four college degrees in just five years. He graduated in two-and-a-half years from UC San Diego with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Spanish Literature. Mr. Yanov also completed two Master’s programs at the University of San Diego with degrees in Peace & Justice and International Relations.

Previously, Mr. Yanov worked with gang members for five years before starting Reality Changers in May 2001 with just $300, yet now the program’s 1,000 students have earned over $40,000,000 in scholarships from all sources.¬†He credits his appearance on Wheel of Fortune in late 2001 for providing the initial financial support for Reality Changers to truly become a bona fide program.

Most recently, Mr. Yanov also served as the inaugural commissioner of the San Diego Commission on Gang Prevention and Intervention and the chairman¬†of the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce’s Education Workforce Development Committee. He is currently putting the finishing touches on his book, “Ending Gang Violence One Kid at a Time.”

Learn more about Reality Changers Staff!
ORGANIZATIONAL LEADERSHIP
COLLEGE TOWN
COLLEGE APPS ACADEMY
Senior Leadership

Marshela Salgado-Solorio
Marshela Salgado-Solorio
Vice President,
Events & Communications
marshela@realitychangers.org
619.516.2219

Eduardo Corona
Eduardo Corona '10
Director, College Town eduardo@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Mary Taylor
Mary Taylor
Director, College Apps Academy
mary@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Angela Yen
Angela Yen
Director of Student Opportunities
angela@realitychangers.org
619.516.2218

Ashley Morgan
Ashley Morgan
Director of Programs & Operations
ashley@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Rachael Lemkau
Rachael Lemkau
Director of
Programs & College Counseling
rachael@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Community OutreachImpact & OutcomesInstructors & Outreach
Chris Sanders
Chris Sanders
Director of Leadership Opportunities
chris.sanders@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222
Alice Chen
Alice Chen
Director of Volunteer Opportunities
alice@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

William Chuong
William Chuong `07
Director of Alumni Opportunities
will@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222
Jonathan Villafuerte
Jonathan Villafuerte '05
Director of Community Opportunities
jonathan@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Miguel Gonzalez
Miguel Gonzalez
Director of Parent Opportunities
miguel@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Scott Cinatl
Scott Cinatl
Director of
Marketing & Communications
scott@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2253
Fundraising & Finance
Carlos Gomez '06
Chief Grant Writing Officer
carlosg@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222
Jordan Harrison
Jordan Harrison
Chief Inspiration Officer
jordan@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Gerardo Jaimes
Gerardo Jaimes '08
Academy Instructor
gerardo@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Kyle Kennedy
Kyle Kennedy
Finance Manager
kyle@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Jean Sanchez
Jean Sanchez '12
Site Director, Solana Beach
jean@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Noel Salungai
Noel Salunga
Lead Instructor
noel@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Norma Ruiz-Murphy
Norma Ruiz-Murphy
Finance Assistant
norma@realitychangers.org
619.516.2216

Carlos Solorio
Carlos Solorio
Director of Digital Media
carlos@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Salina Villegas
Salina Villegas `08
Academy Instructor
salina@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229