↑ Return to About Us

Meet Our Staff

Christopher Yanov

Founder and President, Reality Changers


 
www.ChrisTougher.com

Recently named one of the most-admired CEOs by the San Diego Business Journal and one of San Diego’s new civic power brokers by San Diego Magazine, Christopher Yanov raised and awarded over $1,000,000 in scholarships to inner-city students before turning 30 years old. Mr. Yanov earned four college degrees in just five years. He graduated in two-and-a-half years from both UC San Diego (with Bachelor’s degrees in Political Science and Spanish Literature) and the University of San Diego (with Master’s degrees in Peace & Justice and International Relations).

Previously, Mr. Yanov worked with gang members for five years before starting Reality Changers in May 2001 with just $300, yet now the program’s students have earned $60,000,000 in scholarships from all sources. He credits his appearance on Wheel of Fortune in late 2001 for providing the initial financial support for Reality Changers to truly become a bona fide program.

Mr. Yanov has also served on the San Diego Commission on Gang Prevention & Intervention as well as the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce’s Education & Workforce Development Committee. Currently, Mr. Yanov serves on the Tijuana Innovadora Binational Committee, the University of San Diego’s Emerging Leaders Council, the Voice of San Diego Member Council, and the Federal Employees Scholarship Foundation. He is also putting the finishing touches on his book, “The Tightrope Theory: Why Prevention Programs May Do More Harm Than Good.

Learn more about Reality Changers Staff!
ORGANIZATIONAL LEADERSHIP
COLLEGE TOWN
COLLEGE APPS ACADEMY
Executive Team

Marshela Salgado-Solorio
Marshela Salgado-Solorio
Vice President,
Events & Communications
marshela@realitychangers.org
619.516.2219

Eduardo Corona
Eduardo Corona '10
Director, College Town eduardo@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Mary Taylor
Mary Taylor
Director, College Apps Academy
mary@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Theresa Wolde-Yohannes
Theresa Wolde-Yohannes
Vice President,
Staff & Organizational Development
theresa@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Ashley Morgan
Ashley Morgan
Director of Programs & Operations
ashley@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Rachael Lemkau
Rachael Lemkau
Director of
Programs & College Counseling
rachael@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Linda Moynan
Linda Moynan
Chief Development Officer
linda@realitychangers.org
619.516.2219
Angela Yen
Angela Yen
Director of Student Opportunities
angela@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Teressa Nakamoto
Teressa Nakamoto
Director of Strategic Partnerships
teressa@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222
Community OutreachImpact & OutcomesInstructors & Outreach
Michael Gaulden
Michael Gaulden `10
Director of
Corporate & Community Relations
michael@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Alice Chen
Alice Chen
Director of Volunteer Opportunities
alice@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

William Chuong
William Chuong `07
Director of Alumni Opportunities
will@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222
Fundraising & Finance
Carlos Gomez '06
Chief Grant Writing Officer
carlosg@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222
Miguel Gonzalez
Miguel Gonzalez
Director of Parent Opportunities
miguel@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Scott Cinatl
Scott Cinatl
Director of
Marketing & Communications
scott@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2253
Yuridia Hernandez
Yuridia Hernandez `09
Data Manager
yuridia@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Jordan Harrison
Jordan Harrison
Chief Inspiration Officer
jordan@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Gerardo Jaimes
Gerardo Jaimes '08
Academy Instructor
gerardo@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Kyle Kennedy
Kyle Kennedy
Finance Manager
kyle@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Mariel Mauricio
Mariel Mauricio `09
Assistant Program Manager
mariel@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Noel Salungai
Noel Salunga
Lead Instructor
noel@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Norma Ruiz-Murphy
Norma Ruiz-Murphy
Finance Assistant
norma@realitychangers.org
619.516.2216

Jean Sanchez
Jean Sanchez '12
Site Director, Solana Beach
jean@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Chris Sanders
Chris Sanders
Academy Instructor
chris@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Carlos Solorio
Carlos Solorio
Director of Digital Media
carlos@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Andrew Simmerman
Andrew Simmerman
Academy Instructor
andrew@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229
Jonathan Villafuerte
Jonathan Villafuerte '05
Dean of Students
jonathan@realitychangers.org
619.516.2222

Salina Villegas
Salina Villegas `08
Academy Instructor
salina@collegeappsacademy.org
619.516.2229